for a fun and safe travel to Quito!

Main cities of Ecuador


Latacunga is the capital of the Cotopaxi Province, located in central Ecuador and on the slopes of the Cotopaxi volcano. Surrounded by incredible landscapes and extraordinary customs.

It is one of the most important cities in the Sierra region of Ecuador, it is considered a National Heritage City for its historical, architectural and cultural attributes.

The historic center of Latacunga was declared a "Cultural Heritage of the State", for its narrow streets, churches, historical buildings, which make the city a fascinating tourist destination. It is also known as the city “Cradle of great poets and writers” and “Latacunga Romántica”, so that at nightfall the main churches and parks light up in bright colors.

Latacunga is home to one of the country's traditional festivals, "La Mama Negra" which is celebrated every September 24, in honor of the Virgen de las Mercedes or Virgen del Volcán.

Tourist attractions

Cotopaxi Volcano

Located in Cotopaxi National Park, it is part of the Avenue of the volcanoes. The Cotopaxi volcano is the second highest elevation in Ecuador with 5,897 meters.

Cathedral church

It is one of the most representative monuments of the city of Latacunga. Its construction is in the Romanesque style, built in the mid-eighteenth century. In its interior it keeps artistic works and colonial images.

Quilotoa Lagoon

It is of volcanic origin, forms a park of the Ilinizas Ecological Reserve. In a beautiful lagoon with emerald green waters. It is considered one of the most beautiful lagoons in the world.

Copyright © - All rights reserved.