for a fun and safe travel to Quito!

Tourist Attractions in Quito

Casa de la Cultura Ecuatoriana Benjamín Carrión

The House of Culture was conceived as a true home to national culture. It was created by Executive Decree No. 707, which was proclaimed by the President of the Republic, Dr. José María Velasco Ibarra, on August 9, 1944.

It is named in honor of its creator, Benjamín Carrión, politician, journalist, diplomat, writer and intellectual. He promoted the creation of the Casa de la Cultura, in order to promote and stimulate cultural development and freedom of thought in Ecuador.

The Benjamin Carrión House of Culture is made up of 2 theaters, 1 Ágora, 1 National Library, 1 Editorial Fund, 2 ballet groups, 1 Cinematheque and 4 museums.


  • Colonial Art
  • Modern Art
  • Ethnographic
  • Traversari


  • Avds. 6 de Diciembre N16-224 y Patria


Copyright © - All rights reserved.